Tags

, , , , , ,

This past Friday I attended a type of event which is far too rare in UAE – a Yogathon.  The event invited yogis and yoga-newbies alike to complete 108 sun salutations together at the base of the famous Burj Khalifa, as a fundraiser for the Dubai Autism Centre.

I’m always keen to participate in any yoga event I can so I was thrilled to see this one scheduled on my day off and for such a good cause as well.  Friday morning I made the trek to Dubai and met up with my friend and all-time favourite yoga teacher Liz Terry to get our bend on.  It was great to see the turn out really was a mix of experience levels, and also that it became a big family event.  I have to admit though, I was a wee bit nervous about completing the 108 sun salutations (the event was scheduled for 3 hours!).

While quite simple in execution, I actually really love sun salutations – especially first thing in the morning.  Not only does it get your blood flowing but they also get all the kinks out of your muscles and your back.  So why 108 sun salutations?  Well, apparently the number 108 has long been considered a sacred number.  There’s always something to learn in yoga. 🙂

The first hour was hot – about 35C – but we soon got into a rhythm and despite the lumpy grass, it was an incredible location.  I felt so grateful for every breath I took as I stretched up to the bright blue sky and the towering Burj Khalifa – the 108 salutations flew by quickly.

Two days later, I feel like I could use another Yogathon – or at least a class – to stretch my tender muscles.  But I know I’ll be there next year, doing it all over again. Om.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

x,
L

