Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Traveling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller” – Ibn Battuta

Early this year I had made a commitment – more to myself and honouring an inner passion than anything else – to travel more this year.  More specifically, I committed to getting four new stamps in my passport this year.  After all, it was one of the reasons I moved to the Middle East.  The Universe was listening because within weeks, I had three exciting travel opportunities appear to places that have always been at the top of my list: Maldives, Italy, and Jordan.

I travelled to each of these destinations with very special people and each location taught me something about myself.  I went to the Maldives on a yoga retreat and took the much-needed time to recover from the last year of working nonstop.  It gave me an opportunity to slow down and reassess what I want and need from life; my true values and priorities.  This made for a great segue for Italy a few weeks later where, for the first time in many years, I let my guard down, was incredibly honest with myself, and basically just enjoyed life to the fullest.  I ate, I drank, I laughed, I talked… nothing was left unsaid and my soul healed just a little bit more by time spent with old friends and new ones.  Sometimes it is the simplest things in life that are the most daunting.  But if you don’t stop to look them in the face, well,  you will just never know.  Then just a few days later I was on to Jordan.  The history of this small nation was nothing short of overwhelming and impressive.  That and the timely events from neighbouring Syria which could be seen everywhere really made you stop and appreciate everything in front of you; both literally and figuratively.

 

Such an incredible, historical landmark.

Such an incredible, historical landmark.

One of the most magnificent buildings I have ever seen - I was in complete awe.

One of the most magnificent buildings I have ever seen – I was in complete awe.

I'm a tree.

I’m a tree.


My words, my pictures, and my thoughts have turned me into a storyteller for my friends and family, and for that I am blessed.  Here is to hoping my feet will always remain itchy and I will have an abundance of new passport stamps in my future.

xo,

L

 

